Skip to content
July 27, 2013 / Ang

Surviving Surgery

I was a little freaked out when I found out that on top of taking longer than normal people to wake up as I always have, the POTS might make things complicated for me while under anesthesia. So I made sure that the doctors knew I had POTS and syncope, asked about getting my IV in and getting fluids in as soon as possible, etc.

My nurses were so sweet, but none of them had much success with my IV. I have a massive bruise from where the one woman tried – and she said she’s usually great at it. My veins just didn’t feel like being cooperative I guess. I did take forever to wake up, though. My stepdad said he saw them take me to recovery around 9:20 and it was after 10:30 when they allowed him to come back after I woke up. I fell asleep again on the drive home, and then started the soft foods diet. I think I might try “normal food” tonight because I’ll be getting dinner with friends – and I hope that goes well.

Here’s what you need in order to not hate the entire experience: preferably nice doctors who understand POTS and syncope and the need for hydration, IV fluids – and lots of them (I went through a bag and a half before they allowed me to go), someone that’s willing to go to bat for you if necessary, throat soothing stuff like popsicles because having a tube down your throat makes it a little rough/scratchy, and plenty of time to sleep. Also – it’s nice if they give you pain medicine. I wasn’t expecting it, but I’m really sore/tender after they explored my gland with their little endoscopic camera.

Also, I’m not positive – but I think that the pain medicine might be the only thing keeping my heart rate at a reasonable level. It’s usually around 100 even when I’m just relaxing, but it’s in the normal resting heart rate ranges right now. Like dead set in the middle, maybe even low. It’s exciting to finally have that happen, it’s just sad that it’s because I’m on pain medicine and not because my heart medicine is working.

 

By the way: Be prepared to wake up hearing nurses talk about how you went into tachycardia “but she says it’s not abnormal for her.” Apparently it happened to me during the reversal whatever that means.

Leave a Reply

