Skip to content
September 26, 2013 / Ang

Coffee Shops

I’ll admit it. I LOVE coffee shops. I love them enough that I’m actually a bit of a snob about them. If I can help it I avoid the major chains unless I have a SERIOUS craving for a Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte and Starbucks happens to be on my way. My favorite coffee shop was this little independent shop in my town – it’s closed, though. And I’m not in my town – so I had to go off in search of another coffee shop. I SWEAR that there used to be a coffee shop that I was under the impression was either not a part of a chain or part of a small, local chain. But I couldn’t find it, so I gave up and pulled into Dunkin Donuts to kill some time while my mom was visiting her brother.

There’s something about a coffee shop (particularly that’s not part of a large chain) that’s just so homey. I kid you not – I want to go to dance early sometime soon just to kill time at the coffee shop that’s basically down the block. Coffee Tree Roasters just makes me so happy. Their coffee is amazing (yes I know I’m not supposed to have coffee – too bad, it’s a sometimes treat). And the environment makes it so much more worthwhile. I’m disappointed in myself for being here at this Dunkin’ Donuts because it’s missing that cozy aspect. It’s too industrial I guess is the way to put it. I’m used to coffee shops that have arm chairs and fire places, book nooks, the whole nine yards.

I do my best work in coffee shops. I can put my ear buds in, open up my laptop, and just feel centered. There’s enough isolation but a cozy enough environment that I still feel connected. I’ll confess – unless I definitely want to listen to specific music I don’t put my ear buds in when I’m at the cozy shops, instead I relish in the music (usually much better than what I can faintly hear over my music at the moment) and the sounds of the shop. If I could hang out in the cute cozy shops without actually indulging in coffee I probably would – instead I usually get a drink and nurse it throughout my time there when in all reality I just want the environment.

I’m going to whine just a bit more about being here instead of at my favorite place – my chai is SCALDING. I’m sorry but there’s really no excuse for that. I’ve been sitting here for a good twenty minutes and it still sucks to try to even sip my tea. That’s an issue for me. If there were a Starbucks within the same radius as this place I would most definitely be there instead. Sorry DD – that’s just how it is.

Leave a Reply

