Skip to content
November 5, 2013 / Ang

Please excuse me while I rant.

I have a headache and I’m not sure why. It’s obviously not a headache due to hydration as I was just water loading for yet another stupid unnecessary test. My one doctor wanted to double check that my remaining ovary is okay because I told her I thought I’ve been getting ovary pain again. Well, we think the cysts ruptured anyway. If they did: This test was totally pointless other than to prove I had a cyst rupture about a week ago and there’s no evidence of it now. It seems ESPECIALLY pointless to me right now though because the woman had the ultrasound wand on the left and my ovary is on the right. I mean I’m sure she must have some magic so that’s okay, but seriously….? I need to become an ultrasound tech so that I understand how exactly you can check out my right cyst with your wand exclusively on the left.

Anyway, I’m about to sound extremely spoiled. I live with my parents and I’m unemployed. It’s because of everything going on with my health. I’ve been looking at and applying for jobs and just haven’t heard anything back from anyone. It’s killing me. But in the mean time I’m basically a homemaker. I feel like a stay at home mom to my parents. I hide sweets from my stepdad because I worry about him eating a ton of sweets when he knows his sugar is high sometimes. I’ve been trying to encourage my parents to eat fewer salty foods even though I need to eat tons of salt, etc. I’m the one who makes dinner a lot of nights. When I have energy I even take on cleaning the house. Seriously.

Normally I don’t mind all that much. I get annoyed from time to time because of it, but ultimately I just let it go. I figure it’s the least I can do when I’m staying with my parents and not contributing financially. I feel like slightly less of a waste of space.

HOWEVER: Today I’m just annoyed. I got home from my ultrasound and going to the store for my parents (and got the wrong type of nail polish because my mom couldn’t be bothered to write down what she wanted like I asked her to), and my stepdad’s immediate response was, “I thought you were making parm today?” I just looked at him and said, “I literally just got home. How was I supposed to have made parm by now?” He seems to think that it would have been completely acceptable for me to start the chicken parm and leave it on the stove while I’m out of the house for an hour or more. Seriously? “Well I could have kept an eye on it while you were gone.” And how was I to know that he was going to be home in time that I wouldn’t be leaving it unattended for more than like two minutes? That’s dangerous. I understand that you’re used to me taking on responsibility because I feel badly that I’m such a mooch, but news flash: I have a TON of appointments. To be exact, I now have three 1 PM appointments a week just for cardiac rehab. THEN you add in the extra appointments. I don’t think I’m handling dinner, at least not at the same time as I have been.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Christine / Nov 6 2013 2:26 pm

    Awww..you’re a good home-maker 🙂

    • Ang / Nov 6 2013 3:21 pm

      That’s basically how I feel sometimes. It’s hilarious though because my best friend teases me about it all the time.

    • Ang / Nov 6 2013 4:08 pm

      That’s basically how I feel sometimes. It’s hilarious though because my best friend teases me about it all the time. But shhh – don’t tell my best friend. 😉 He already teases me about how my place is in the kitchen as a girl. If I let him know I’m secretly a homemaker (and don’t always hate it) I would never hear the end of it.

Leave a Reply

