Skip to content
November 18, 2013 / Ang

Another Day, Another Seemingly Useless Appointment…

I don’t understand how my doctors aren’t more concerned with figuring out how to get this under control. To me, it’s top priority.

I don’t want to keep having heart rates as high as 160 just from hanging out in a vertical position. Seriously. 160 is FINE for exercising but just standing? Not at all awesome. I want to be able to do things with my life and in order to do that I need to get things under control.

Nothing is changing with my treatment, though. “Just keep up with salty fluids and your cardiac rehab.”

“Okay, but what about my beta blocker? Why doesn’t it seem to be working yet?”

“If it’s causing nightmares you could consider taking it during the day instead but otherwise I don’t think it matters..”

WHY can I not just get my body to work itself out and why does this not bother my doctors that I’m basically not living a full life as much as it bothers me? It’s at the point where I’m almost annoyed hearing about other people’s symptoms that I ordinarily just blow off in myself and finding out their heart rates AFTER EXERCISE (non-recumbent at that!) are lower than mine just standing. That makes me a terrible person, I don’t like it – but it’s true. I’m annoyed. I cope. You can too. *grumble grumble*

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Christine / Nov 19 2013 2:36 pm

    I can relate! My old cardiologist said having tachycardia 4+ hours per day was “fine” (over 120 bpm), and another several hours of a heart rate of over 100bpm was “fine,” too (the holter monitor results).

    Yeah…YOU try dealing with it, buddy!!

    • Ang / Nov 19 2013 11:00 pm

      Oh? Well maybe you’re getting anxious about standing up and that’s making your heart rate go up. You haven’t returned to teaching, though, have you?

      Uh. No. I’m a college student. I need to have confidence in my ability to handle a semester before I can go back. We didn’t have that this summer and we STILL don’t have it..

Leave a Reply

